Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

November 17, 2012

Monroe explodes in win over Mount Airy

MOUNT AIRY - Monroe used a balanced offensive attack behind the passing and rushing of quarterback Quayshawn Chambers to defeat the Granite Bears by a score of 61-31.

Chambers, a Duke recruit ran for over 100 yards with a touchdown and completed 8 of 9 passes for 122 yards with another score. The Redhawks also used Tre-Shun Wynn, Chase Byrum, and Julius Stradford in a powerful running game to amass over 400 total yards.

The Redhawks led 27-10 at the half, but the blew the game wide-open when they scored 14 points in just a little over a minute.

Deon Sturdivant returned the second half kickoff 93-yards for touchdown and Lavonte Baker returned a fumble 30-yards for another touchdown to make the score 41-10.

Mount Airy's Andrew Jones ran for 2 touchdowns to trim the margin to 47-24. The Redhawks scored twice and the Granite Bears once in the final quarter to close out the scoring 61-31.

Mount Airy finishes their 2012 season with a record of 12-2.

Monroe (11-3) will advance to the NCHSAA 1AA Western finals to take on the Swain County Maroon Devils (14-0) in Bryson City next Friday night.

Notes: Chambers had 2 TD runs called back. There was a mistake in the video. The 2nd touchdown run by Chambers was an actually touchdown, not nullified. The 3rd touchdown run was not a touchdown and was nullified by an illegal block.


North Carolina NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos NCPreps.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.